Stone decisions...

Cuckoo!
 
A sunny weekend packed with sleepovers, soccer games, haunted house party for some and birthday party for some. This always mean a loooooot of driving, dropping off and picking up but in between we shared a few laughs, a few disagreements and had the sun watching over us the whole weekend. 
 
In my mind im constantly dealing with different kinds of decisions regarding the renovation. 
One is to find a suitable stone for the island in the kitchen and the perimeters. 
 
 
I have decided I want to have white carerra marble but the problem is our island is BIIIIG and the marble usually come in a little bit smaller pieces. 
We eventually found a place which actually had two slabs that would be perfect and by the look of my face I seem to be very happy with that :))
 
 
It is amazing that in this white sea of marbles there are only two in the size we want at this particular place but None at the others. 
The problem is I don't want the stone to have a seam!
I want to have one whole peace of beautiful unbroken stone...
 
 
And I think I found it!!!
The little rectangular peace of grey at the bottom of the picture is the colour of the kitchen cabinets. 
In certain lights the grey has a small hint towards green so the marble then has to have the right grey to match that but also there I'm happy with what we found. 
 
 
Its a big island so in order for it to look balanced we also needed to look for quite a thick piece...
And guess what?
Right thickness! Check!
 
 
Next question was if I wanted a polished or honed (matte finish) surface. 
It was easy though to choose since the "stone man" told me that the honed version ( my favorite) was the easier one to maintain so that was a no brainer:)
 
 
With all those criteria fulfilled I just had to take in the look of the stone, see the artsy pattern of grey veins and see the beautiful result of what nature has been producing during looooooong time and now is going to end up in my kitchen. 
Respect!!!
 
tjingeling


Kommentarer
Annika

Verkligen! Respekt för naturens fantastiska underverk. Och för din goda smak och framför allt tålamod att hitta rätt skiva. Det kommer att bli ett otroligt vackert kök snart. Förstår att du börjar längta efter hemlagat nu😉.

Svar: Den som väntar på nåt gott väntar ALLTID för länge:) krams krams
Maria Lacik

2014-10-27 @ 07:07:08
mamma

så vackra

Svar: Fantastiska!
Maria Lacik

2014-10-27 @ 09:46:24


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

miacasaolitetill.blogg.se

Min väg från hus till hem och annat däremellan som gör livet vackrare

RSS 2.0