My view of Rio!

Cuckoo!
Im home and I'm back!
Back from sunshine, warmth and smiling people to snowstorm, closed schools and fighting kids! 
Yay! 
 
I really wanted to share my fantastic week in Rio but was unable to upload pictures to my blog so now I will have to do a look-back galore instead. 
My strongest memory of the week was the visit of two favelas ( slum areas) in Rio. 
Out of seven million people 1,5 millions live in a favela. 
I didn't know what to expect but here is what I found:
 
All the favelas are mostly located up the hills surrounding Rio and therfor has a fantastic view. 
 
From a distance it looks almost picturesque but when you get closer it reveals a complex architechure. 
 
Colours are always present and helps to give a positive impression...
 
 
 
 
Even the locals are dressed in matching colours:)
 
 
Small narrow alleyways gives you the feeling of walking in a maze...
 
 
And it's almost always dark everywhere but the chairs are painted in sunshine...
 
I saw a lot of love around and many smiling people and this picture will have to represent the peaceful impression this favela was trying to give the visitor. 
The government is trying to change the living in the favelas and pacified them a couple of years ago and it has since then improved the conditions a lot for the inhabitants. 
It has a hospital, library, banks, shops and a school:
 
 
Here is the entrance to the school. It was now closed for summer holiday but is welcoming kids every afternoon to gang out there and to stay away from the streets. 
 
A classroom...
 
 
A pool area:)
 
 
a stairway to knowledge. 
 
 
Decorations...
 
 
And of course flowers...
 
 
And trees!
 
all in all it was a very humble experience but not a sad one. There were no misery only poverty and I not only learned about favelas but I also got a new understanding about different aspects of Brazilian society. 
They all seem eager to change the bad reputation the favelas have ( now called communities by the way) and the impression you get from this tours at least is that it is going in the right direction. 
 
todelooo
 
 
 
 


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

miacasaolitetill.blogg.se

Min väg från hus till hem och annat däremellan som gör livet vackrare

RSS 2.0