Jeff Koons

Cuckoo!
 
Sometimes life requires more from me than usual which means i do not find time to write in my blog.
And it is a lot going on now...
 
I did manage to drag my dear husband, my oldest and my youngest child along to the Whitney museum of american art though on the saturday.
Jeff Koons A retrospective had invaded three floors of that museum and filled them with colours, stainless steel sculptures and humour.
Such a treat!!!
 
 
Who has not heard about Popeye and his need for spinach when he wanted to become really really strong?
The artist says "art is our spinach". "It can bring about transcendence and empowerment".
I though that was beautiful and very true.
Art can definitely make me see and feel things differently.
 
 
 
Most of his sculptures are made of metal and this "balloon" is 10 feet ( 3m) and weighs over 2500 pounds (1100 kg)
 
 
 
Paintings drenched in colours that brightened up the rainy day...
 
 
 
Some sculptures were made of wood or porcelain and had unexpected details not obvious at the first look.
Like three arms on Michael Jackson...
 
 
He was fond of making trivial things like small souvenirs or cheap toys into big giant copies.
Koons believes that all kinds of objects can be fun to look at, not just the things we usually call art.
 
 
One of my favourites...
Love this painting in his Celebration serie!
It is so full of pink rock chic femininity.
My total opposite, probably why it appeals to me.
 
 
And when we eventually got tired of all the beautiful art my daughter could continue admiring herself in a mirror in the restroom.
Do not need much to entertain this little lady...
 
And i think that was one of the highlights at the museum:
my kids enjoying art that would meet their individual level.
Tjohoo for Koons
 
A rainy saturday that turned out to be sunny in the end :))
 
 tjingeling


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

miacasaolitetill.blogg.se

Min väg från hus till hem och annat däremellan som gör livet vackrare

RSS 2.0